Find Your Funding Opportunity

Innovation in Behavioral Health (IBH) Model
Bookmarked grants will display in your Account Setting page

Service Source Final Application Due Date Funding Available Match Required
Health Care Federal
09-09-2024 $60.0 M No Match
  • Service
  • Source
  • Final Application Due Date
  • Funding Available
  • Match Required
  • Past
  • Current
  • Forecasted
  • N/A
  • $7,500,000
  • Award Floor
  • Award Ceiling
    • Expected Number of Awards 8
    • Opportunity Type Discretionary
    • CFDA

      93.610 -- Innovation In Behavioral Health


    The Innovation in Behavioral Health (IBH) Model (the “Model”) is an eight-year, voluntary service delivery and payment model promoting integrated care in behavioral health (BH) settings. The IBH Model will test the impact of a value-based payment (VBP) model aligned across Medicaid and Medicare that supports an integrated care delivery framework in specialty BH organizations and settings for adult Medicaid, Medicare, and dually eligible beneficiaries with moderate to severe mental health conditions and/or substance use disorders (SUDs).

    The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), through its Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center), will select up to eight state Medicaid agencies (SMAs) to participate in the Model. Implementation will begin in January 2025 and end in December 2032. The Model will have an eight-year performance period, which will be comprised of a three-year Pre-Implementation Period along with a five-year Implementation Period. Up to $7.5 million dollars in cooperative agreement award funding will be available to each selected Recipient over the course of the eight years.

    • IHE
    • Local Government
    • Non-Profit
    • Other
    • State Government
    • Tribal Government
    Additional Eligibility Information

    Eligible applicants are state Medicaid agencies (SMAs) with the authority and capacity to accept the Cooperative Agreement award funding. Eligible applicants are all 50 states, Washington DC, and U.S. territories. Eligible U.S. territories include American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. Applicants may select to participate at the state level or designate a sub-state region, subject to CMS approval during the application review.

    Key Date(s)
    • June 17, 2024: Posted Date
    • June 17, 2024: Last Updated Date
    • September 09, 2024: Current Closing Date for Applications
    • September 09, 2024: Application Due Date
    • October 09, 2024: Application Archive Date
    Contact Information


    Feedback Feedback

    Your opinion is important to us

    • How would you rate your overall experience on our website?

    • How easy is it to find the information you need?

    • How do you rate the look & feel of our website?

    • How could we improve our website?